Judges Demand

From 173 Courts to 1 National County Court from 22 April 2014

Published On: 2nd April 2014

Subject to parliamentary approval, the single county court will be established as of 22nd April 2014. Currently, there are 173 courts in England and Wales each has its own jurisdictional boundary. The single county court will establish 1 national county court with 173 hearing centres (The current county court buildings).

The removal of district boundaries means claimants will have more flexibility to issue a claim or application to a court local to there home or work.

However, it is important to note that any money claims must be issued and filed via the County Court Money Claims Centre .

Current System – 173 County Courts and 173 County Court Jurisdictions

New System – 173 County Court Hearing Centres and 1 National County Court Jurisdiction